Preaload Image

New year in different parts of india


  •  Navreh is the Kashmiri New Year Festival celebrated by the Kashmiri Pandits.
  •  The festival falls on the first day of the bright half of the month of Chaitra.
  • The word navreh, derived from the Sanskrit nava varsha, literary meaning ‘new year’.


  • Baisakhi is the Punjabi New Year Festival celebrated in the month of April.
  • The Punjabi celebrated this festival by performing their folk dance, Bhangra and Gidda.


  •  Bestu Varas is the Gujarati New Year Festival.
  •  It is also called as Varsha-pratipada or Padwa, and falls in the month of Kartik, the first month of Gujarati Calendar.
  •  It falls on the day after Diwali.


  •  It is a spring-time festival that marks the traditional new year of Marathi and Konkani Hindus.
  •  It is celebrated on the first day of the Chaitra month. The festival is observed with colourful floor decorations called


  •  It is the Sikkimese New Year Festival celebrated primarily by the Bhutia tribe but also by the Lepchas tribe.
  • Based on the Tibetan Lunar Calendar, the festival falls on the month of December.
  •  The festival is conducted at the Phodong and Rumtek Monasteries in Sikkim.
  •  Loosong is not only celebrated in India but it is also celebrated in Nepal and Bhutan.
  • The dance forms performed in the festival depict narrativized tales from the life of Padmasambhava

To read this current affair fully, click the below link to download or subscribe our youtube channel to get daily current affairs