Preaload Image

In news:

  • India was re-elected as Observer to the Arctic Council during the 11th Arctic Council ministerial meeting at Rovaniemi,

About Arctic Council:

  •  The Arctic Council promotes cooperation, coordination and interaction among Arctic states, the region’s indigenous
    communities and other inhabitants on common issues, particularly on sustainable development and environmental protection.
  •  It was established in 1996 by Ottawa Declaration and is headquartered in Tromso, Norway.
  •  Members: United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, and Sweden.
  • 13 Non-arctic Observer States: France, Japan, Poland, Singapore, United Kingdom, Germany, Netherlands, India, Spain,
    Italy, China, Korea and Switzerland.
  • It has 6 Permanent Participants, representing Arctic indigenous peoples.
  •  Aleut International Association
  •  Arctic Athabaskan Council
  •  Gwich’in Council International
  •  Inuit Circumpolar Council
  •  Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North
  •  Saami Council
  • India successfully got the Observer status in 2013 during the Kiruna Ministerial meeting held in Sweden
  •  India has its Arctic research station ‘Himadri’ in Svalbard, Norway since 2008. It was set up by India’s National Centre for
    Polar and Ocean Research, an institute under the Ministry of Earth Sciences.

To read this current affair fully, click the below link to download or subscribe our youtube channel to get daily current affairs