What is the pattern of the Civil Services Examination?

Level 1: Preliminary Test

Level 2 : Main Exam

Level 3 : Personality Test / Interview

Level 1 : Preliminary Test – consists of objective questions with penalty (negative marking) for wrong answers. (This year the Prelim exam would be held on 18th June 2017)

Paper 1 – General Studies (200 marks) 2 hours

Paper 2 – CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) (200 marks) 2 hours (This will be a qualifying paper with minimum qualifying marks fixed at 33%)

There is a cut-off in the Preliminary Test which varies every year and is decided by the UPSC.